Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Understanding the U.S./E.U./NATO Axis of Domination in Africa & the Americas

June 20 @ 4:00 pm PDT

| Free
Flyer for program on NATO on June 20, 2024 in Washington, DC.

Join us for an in-depth discussion on NATO’s history and its enduring impact on Africa and the Americas.

Established by colonial powers post-WWII, NATO’s initial mission was to halt the spread of communism. However, its actions have led to decades of war crimes against colonized peoples. In the 1950s, NATO bases in North Africa targeted the Soviet Union, setting a precedent for post-colonial exploitation. Today, the comprador class in Africa aligns with NATO, allowing military occupations and proxy wars. Since 2007, the U.S. Africa Command (AFRICOM) has established a presence in 53 out of 54 African countries, with Eritrea being the sole exception. NATO’s 2011 bombing campaign to overthrow Pan-African president Moammar Qadhafi led to regional instability and terror in Libya and the Sahel region.

The U.S. Monroe Doctrine’s guise of protection has historically facilitated American dominance and militarization in Latin America. Argentina’s recent application to join NATO signifies further militarization, pushing the region away from the ideal of a Zone of Peace. Resisting U.S./NATO military exercises, WHINSEC operations, and inhumane sanctions is crucial to establishing Our Americas as a Zone of Peace.

Join us in this critical dialogue for understanding on the historical and ongoing impacts of NATO and the necessity of advocating for people’s centered human rights and sovereignty in the Global South.

Time: 4pm PST/6pm CT/ 7pm EST
Registration link: tinyurl.com/ResistNATO2

Details

Date:
June 20
Time:
4:00 pm PDT
Cost:
Free
Event Category:
Event Tags:
,

Organisers

Black Alliance for Peace
A-APRP