Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

The Revolutionary Life & Legacy of Paul Robeson

February 25 @ 8:30 am HST

| Free
Flyer for event on Paul Robeson

Date: 25 February 2024

Time:
8:30am (Honolulu)
1:30pm (New York & Bogota)
3:30pm (Buenos Aires & Santiago)
7:30pm (Paris, Madrid & Malabo)
8:30pm (Johannesburg)

Venue: Online (Zoom Meeting ID: 879 3486 9413/Also available on Activist News Network YouTube channel)
Simultaneous interpretation provided in French and Spanish

Gerald Horne Bio

Gerald Horne is a historian and political activist. He holds the Moores Professorship of History and African American Studies at the University of Houston. A prolific author, Professor Horne has written over 40 books on a wide range of issues, including Black Internationalism, the music and film industry, imperialism, settler colonialism and White Supremacy.

Gerald Horne is also the co-producer of Freedom Now, a weekly Pan-African, internationalist and anti-imperialist program on KPFK, a listener-sponsored radio station based in California.

Trained as a labor lawyer, Gerald Horne has been at the forefront of the Anti-Apartheid Movement in the United States during his time as President of the National Conference of Black Lawyers (NCBL) in the 1980s.

Gerald Horne is also the recipient of several awards including the 2021 American Book Award for “The Dawning of the Apocalypse: The Roots Slavery, White Supremacy, Settler Colonialism and Capitalism in the Long Sixteenth Century”, and the Franz Fanon Lifetime Achievement Award granted by the Caribbean Philosophical Association in 2023.

 

Details

Date:
February 25
Time:
8:30 am HST
Cost:
Free
Event Categories:
,
Event Tags:
, , ,