Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Black Freed Struggle & Palestine

January 27 @ 10:30 am CST

| Free
Flyer for Palestine program

Date: 27 January 2024

Time:
10:30am (Houston)
11:30am (New York)
5:30pm (Paris & Vienna)
6:30pm (Johannesburg)

Venue: Online
https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZAkdOmhpzIiEtZfMrh6ajs8gCbik5so35iX#/registration

Gerald Horne is a historian and political activist. He holds the Moores Professorship of History and African American Studies at the University of Houston. A prolific author, Professor Horne has written over 40 books on a wide range of issues, including Black Internationalism, the music and film industry, imperialism, settler colonialism and White Supremacy.

Gerald Horne is also the co-producer of Freedom Now, a weekly Pan-African, internationalist and anti-imperialist program on KPFK, a listener-sponsored radio station based in California.

Trained as a labor lawyer, Gerald Horne has been at the forefront of the Anti-Apartheid Movement in the United States during his time as President of the National Conference of Black Lawyers (NCBL) in the 1980s.

It is the context of the fight against the racist and white supremacist regime of Pretoria, which received massive military assistance from the State of Israel (one of its closest allies), that Gerald Horne became increasingly involved in the solidarity movement with the people of Palestine.

 

Details

Date:
January 27
Time:
10:30 am CST
Cost:
Free
Event Categories:
,
Event Tags:
, ,