Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Advancing Activism and Protecting Civil Liberties in the Climate of COVID-19

April 25 @ 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm SAST

ABOUT THE PROGRAMME

Political Education Webinar featuring the Human Rights Lawyer, Author Mark P. Fancher of the All-African People’s Revolutionary Party (A-APRP) and Jaki Seroke – Secretary of Publicity and Information of the Pan-Africanist Congress of Azania (PAC-A) about adjusting revolutionary activism and protecting civil liberties against reactionary, anti-people actions being taken under the guise of the countering the COVID-19 pandemic

The webinar will discuss among other points of information:

  • What activities governments can/cannot restrict legally
  • What activists and organisations can do stop human rights abuses
  • Issue of unexplained vaccinations being implemented in poor communities
  • Impact of Lockdown measures in Azania/South Africa and impoverished communities throughout the world

Date: Saturday 25th April 2020

Time: 15h00 GMT | 16h00 WAST | 17h00 SAST | 18h00 EAT | 11AM EDT | 8AM PDT

Venue: Facebook Live @ facebook.com/AAPRP

REGISTER HERE

#StayHomeNotSilent

ABOUT THE PRESENTERS

Mark P. Fancher is an attorney and writer who monitors and analyzes the U.S. military presence in Africa. His commentaries appear regularly in the web magazine Black Agenda Report and in select newspapers.

Through the years his legal practice has included cases that address: police brutality, community economic development, employment discrimination, racially discriminatory school discipline and other civil rights and human rights issues. He has held national leadership positions with the National Conference of Black Lawyers, and he is an organizer for the All-African Peoples’ Revolutionary Party (A-APRP).

Mr. Fancher blogs regularly at Black Agenda Report.

Jaki Seroke is a political stalwart of the Pan Africanist Congress of Azania (PAC-A). He has been active in the underground structures of the organization since 1977.
He writes regularly for the op-ed pages of newspapers on the Pan Africanist perspective. His articles appear on Mayihlome News, a Pan African blog.
He has served a term in prison for possession of banned literature in 1979. He also served a twelve year sentence on Robben Island maximum prison from 1987 for terrorism and leading the propaganda section of the then banned PAC-A. Was among the leaders of the PAC-A who were detained under Section 29 of the Internal Security Act on 25 May 1993, during negotiations.
He is a book publisher and strategic management consultant in addition to being the Secretary for Publicity and Information in the  PAC-A.

 

Details

Date:
April 25
Time:
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm SAST
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, ,

Venue

Facebook Live
Website:
facebook.com/AAPRP

Organizer

A-APRP